Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

The College’s Postgraduate Programs


- 2019/11/25

The UQU College of Medicine offers a wide range of postgraduate programs that are in line with the Saudi Vision 2030 and commensurate with the aspirations and needs of the Saudi community; some of these programs are the following:

 

1) Medical Genetics (MSc)

Consistent with Saudi Vision 2030 and its objective to upgrade health services and provide specialists in rare specialized fields, and owing to the urgent need for such specialty, a Master’s Degree in Genetics has been created. The program aims to graduate specialized students in the field of Medical Genetics who are qualified to diagnose diverse genetic diseases in addition to their ability to participate in medical research in the field of medical genetics and genetic diseases.

The Genetic MA is a two year program with 48 study units. In the first year all courses are covered, while the second year includes training at one of the leading hospitals in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in addition to graduation research. The Department of Medical Genetics at the College of Medicine seeks to create an effective environment to provide a high level of education and research for students to provide competent graduates and specialists in this field.

2) Clinical Toxicology (MSc)

To achieve the vision of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the UQU College of Medicine, and in consistent with Saudi Vision 2030 to develop health care services, the department offers the Clinical Toxicology Master's Program. This program was created due to the urgent necessity for emergency physicians specialized in the treatment of poisoning cases coming to emergency departments at health institutions who are in urgent need of medical assistance, only provided by a specialist in the treatment of poisoning; it is therefore necessary to provide specialized medical personnel to cover the needs of hospitals in the field of poisoning treatment due to increasing numbers of poisoning cases.

The program contains a series of theoretical and practical courses to prepare students to become specialists in clinical toxicology. The program is delivered in 53 credit hours divided into four semesters. Students with a Bachelor's Degree of Medicine and Surgery, in addition to pharmacists, are accepted. Further, male and female students are trained to receive, diagnose, and treat critical cases of suspected poisoning.

3) Clinical Biochemistry (MSc)

The program includes 48 two-year modules and is delivered in 34 credit hours, including courses and a thesis. The program is designed to provide specialists in clinical biochemistry and molecular biology with a deep understanding of both basic and advanced biochemistry. The program contains theoretical and practical courses, as well as experiences to provide the best education with regard to all aspects of clinical biochemistry and the skills necessary to conduct daily laboratory activities.

4) Tropical Medicine (Higher Diploma)

Within the region of Makkah, there is a constant risk of being vulnerable to tropical diseases, since an estimated 6 million people visit Mecca for Hajj and Umrah, with most of them coming from tropical and subtropical countries. Furthermore, there are millions of expatriates coming from tropical countries to work. Similarly, many Saudis travel to tropical countries for work, hiking, and tourism. These factors increase everyone's vulnerability to contracting tropical diseases. Henceforth, the importance of qualifying a working group capable of laboratory diagnosis of these diseases is now confirmed.

Through this program, available for the first time in the Kingdom, students are provided with the theoretical and laboratory skills required to diagnose tropical diseases and work in medical laboratories through their knowledge and understanding of the basic principles of a wide range of techniques. These include traditional techniques (routine), serology, and molecular biological techniques and their applications in tropical diseases.

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

برامج الدراسات العليا بالكلية


- 2019/11/10

تقدم كلية الطب مجموعة من برامج الدراسات العليا التي توائم رؤية المملكة 2030 وتتناسب مع تطلعات واحتياج المجتمع السعودي ومنها:

١- برنامج ماجستير الوراثة الطبية

تماشيًا مع رؤية المملكة 2030 وما تهدف إليه الرؤية من تحسين الخدمات الصحية، وتوفير مختصين في المجالات التخصصية النادرة، ونظرًا للحاجة الماسة لهذا التخصص، تم إنشاء برنامج الماجستير في الوراثة الطبية. يهدف إلى تخريج طلاب متخصصين في مجال الوراثة الطبية ومؤهلين لتشخيص الأمراض الوراثية بمختلف أنواعها بالإضافة إلى قدرتهم على المشاركة في الأبحاث الطبية المتخصصة في مجال الوراثة الطبية والأمراض الطبية. 

يحوي البرنامج على 48 وحدة دراسية ممتدة لعامين، يتم في السنة الأولى تغطية جميع المقررات الدراسية. بينما تحوي السنة الثانية على تدريب في إحدى المستشفيات الرائدة في المملكة العربية السعودية بالإضافة إلى بحث التخرج. يسعى قسم الوراثة الطبية بكلية الطب لإنشاء بيئة فعالة لتقديم مستوى عالٍ من التعليم والأبحاث للطلاب لتخريج مختصين أكفاء في هذا المجال.

 

٢- برنامج ماجستير علم السموم السريري

تحقيقاً لرسالة قسم الأدوية والسموم بكلية الطب في جامعة أم القرى في خدمة الجامعة والمجتمع وتماشياً مع رؤية 2030 لمملكتنا الغالية في تطوير خدمات الرعاية الصحية، يقدم القسم "برنامج ماجستير علم السموم السريري"، وذلك  للحاجة الملحة لوجود طبيب طوارئ مختص في معالجة حالات التسمم التي ترد إلى أقسام الطوارئ بالمنشآت الصحية ممن هم في حاجة عاجلة للمساعدة الطبية التي لا تتوفر إلا على يد طبيب مختص في معالجة حالات التسمم؛ لذا فإنه أصبح من الضروري توفر كوادر طبية متخصصة تغطي احتياجات المستشفيات في مجال معالجة التسمم في وجود الأعداد المتزايدة من حالات التسمم.

يحتوي البرنامج على سلسلة من المقررات النظرية والعملية التي تعمل على إعداد مؤهل متخصص في علم السموم السريري في عدد 53 ساعة معتمدة مقسمة على أربعة فصول دراسية، ويتم قبول الطلاب الحاصلين على بكالوريوس في الطب والجراحة ودكتور صيدلي، يتم تدريس الدراسات العملية وتدريب الطلاب والطالبات على استقبال وتشخيص ومعالجة الحالات الحرجة المشتبه في تعرضهم لحالات تسمم بمهنية عالية.

 

٣- ماجستير الكيمياء الإكلينيكية

هو عبارة عن برنامج يمتد لعامين ويحوي على 34 ساعة معتمدة تشمل مقررات دراسية بالإضافة إلى رسالة. صمم البرنامج لتخريج متخصصين في الكيمياء الحيوية الإكلينيكية والأحياء الجزيئية يتميزون بفهم عالٍ لأساسيات الكيمياء الحيوية الأساسية والمتقدمة؛ ليكونوا ذوي خبرة في هذا المجال، ويتكون البرنامج من مواد نظرية بالإضافة إلى جزء عملي وخبرات لتقديم التعليم الأمثل لكل ما يتعلق بالكيمياء الحيوية السريرية والمهارات اللازمة للقيام بالأعمال اليومية المخبرية.

 

٤- دبلوم الطفيليات الطبية

في منطقة مكة، هناك خطر مستمر للإصابة بالأمراض المدارية، حيث يقدر سنويًا زيارة ستة ملايين شخص لمكة المكرمة للحج والعمرة، معظمهم من البلدان المدارية وشبه المدارية، علاوة على ذلك؛ ملايين المغتربين من البلدان المدارية تأتي لأجل العمل. وبالمثل يسافر العديد من السعوديين إلى البلدان المدارية للعمل والتنزه والسياحة، هذه العوامل بالتأكيد تزيد من فرصة العدوى بأمراض المناطق المدارية، وتؤكد على أهمية تأهيل مجموعة عمل قادرة على التشخيص المعملي لهذه الأمراض.

من خلال هذا البرنامج، وهو الأول من نوعه في المملكة، يتم  تزويد الدارسين بالمهارات النظرية والمعملية لتشخيص أمراض المناطق المدارية والمطلوبة للعمل في المختبرات الطبية من خلال المعرفة والفهم للمبادئ الأساسية لمجموعة واسعة من التقنيات: مثل التقنيات المعتادة (الروتيني)، المصلية (السيرولوجي)، وتقنيات البيولوجية الجزيئية وتطبيقاتها في مجال العدوى بالأمراض المدارية.

جار التحميل