Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

Overview


- 2017/12/07

Overview:

Since the inception of the Center of Revival of Islamic Heritage at the College of Shari'a and Islamic Studies in 1396H, the Umm Al-Qura University (UQU) has figured as a pioneer in maintaining Islamic heritage and its collection, verification and publication. A long time ago, the Center was able to collect more than 20,000 reference Islamic manuscripts from all round the world serving untold numbers of professors in the Saudi, Arabian and international universities, and the graduate students in and outside the Kingdom. At the beginning, the center’s main specialties included Islamic studies, Arabic language, historical and civilization studies, in addition to the revival of Islamic heritage. The Center managed to publish about 60 publications including books and heritage encyclopedia since its inception up to the issuance of the royal decree in Muharram 8th, 1406H, corresponding to September 23rd, 1985, which stipulated the establishment of the Institute of Scientific Research and Revival of Islamic Heritage and inclusion of the Center of the Revival of Islamic Heritage in its research centers.

 

Heritage publications have always been and still focus of concern for researchers,visitors of local and international exhibitions and the local and international publishers due to their high scientific value. The most recent publications in this regard are the encyclopedia of "Al-Maqasid Al-Shafia" in10 volumes, and the encyclopedia of “Al-Jamea'” by Ibn Younis al-Maliki in 24 volumes, besides the manuscripts of the Institute available at other parties in the university such as the original and digital manuscripts kept at sterilization and renovation labs, given that the right to electronically publish such manuscripts is owned by the Deanship of Library Affairs. All of such manuscripts can be transferred to the Institute upon the issuance of an approval to change its name, to become a specialized unit of high value and importance.

 

It is well-known that the UQU is exerting outstanding efforts in verification, publication and caring of the Islamic heritage manuscripts. And perhaps the most prominent and most obvious example is the large number of scientific papers in this subject registered with different scientific divisions in the university, exceeding 2,000 masters’ and doctoral theses.

 

Due to the enormous advancement and development witnessed by the manuscripts department that has been reflected in providing the microfilm library with more copies from original resources wherever they were located whether inside or outside the country in order to facilitate verification of Islamic heritage by researchers including faculty members, undergraduates and graduate students in various universities, and with respect to the great attention given to those valuable collections by the successive leaders of the Institute for Research and Revival of Islamic Heritage and the care given to indexing, classification and printing of indexes in order to facilitate manual and online access while providing the most recent reading and reproducing facilities, it has become a valid justification for establishing a separate institute to take care of manuscript matters and verification of Islamic heritage to ensure due attention and support to these valuable resources in addition to the following justifications:

Firstly: UQU is a pioneer and leader in the field of caring of Islamic heritage since the establishment of the Center of Revival of Islamic Heritage in 1396H.

Secondly: Lack of scientific or educational institutions specialized in the collection, verification, caring and publication of heritage masterpieces in Saudi Arabia made it necessary to establish this institute.

Thirdly: The importance of this institute is to achieve the mission of the educational sector in Saudi Arabia in general and UQU in particular, with regard to the caring of Islamic culture and science and linking them with Islamic heritage.

Fourthly: The Institute plays a vital role in creating specialized, qualified and highly-trained cadres who are able to maintain, collect, examine, arrange, study and verify Islamic heritage, besides providing these manuscripts with necessary sterilization and renovation.

Fifthly: Establishing specialized heritage research centers in various fields of knowledge has always been a focus of attention.

Sixthly: The Institute will play a significant role in enriching the King Abdullah Initiative for Arab Content.

Seventhly: The Institute of Scientific Research and Revival of Islamic Heritage has an integrated infrastructure represented in:

  • Existence of large quantities of copies of the rare global manuscripts amounting to 80,000 pieces.
  • Existence of an integrated e-lab equipped for archiving and digitalizing manuscripts (transforming them from previous paper and microfilm forms into an electronic one).
  • The huge intellectual production owned by the Institute in the field of heritage verification. In this regard, the Institute has published dozens of rare manuscripts since its inception.
  • The Institute hires academic, administrative and technician cadres, who are well qualified scientifically and technically.
  • The institute’s headquarters is equipped with manuscript lab, lockers and integrated exhibition halls.
  • Making use of the manuscripts owned by other departments in the university according to the recommendations of the final report of the standing committee for examination and evaluation of the manuscripts which stipulated integrating UQU properties in this regard.
  • Making use of the infrastructure of King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz University Library including paper and digital manuscripts, microfilms or sterilization and renovation labs.

 

Mission:

Supporting the University’s mission, caring of manuscripts and revival of Islamic heritage and its collection, indexing and verification, besides linking the university with the community.

 

 

Values:

  • Commitment to Islamic principles in light of the true faith.
  • Authenticity
  • Total Quality
  • Responsibility
  • Cooperation
  • Subjectivity
  • Credibility 

 

Objectives:

Since its inception, the Institute of Scientific Research and Revival of Islamic Heritage at Umm Al-Qura University (UQU) attaches great attention to manuscripts in terms of collection, indexing and verification. In continuation of this approach and significant role, the Institute aims at:

Firstly: Collecting originals and copies of Islamic heritage manuscripts from inside and outside the Kingdom.

Secondly: Caring of, indexing and verification of manuscripts and providing an easy access for the researchers to them.

Thirdly: Publishing and verification of Islamic manuscripts in different branches of knowledge.

Fourthly: Providing specialized scientific consultations in the field of manuscripts and their collection, indexing and verification.

Fifthly: Abiding by the Islamic standards in light of the true faith.

Sixthly: Supporting and encouraging researchers, including graduate students and faculty members, in the universities to work in the field of Islamic heritage verification.

Seventhly: Cooperating with similar bodies internally and externally to exchange manuscripts and expertise.

Eighthly: Showing the verified and published intellectual production in the field of Islamic heritage for the researchers in the permanent book fair at the headquarters of the Institute of Scientific Research and Revival of Islamic Heritage in the university and local and international book fairs.

Ninthly: Organizing training courses in the field of verification, study and caring of Islamic heritage.

Tenthly: Carrying out specialized researches and studies in the fields of sterilization and restoration of paper manuscripts.

 

Vision:

The Institute aspires to become unrivaled at the global level in the field of the collection of manuscript treasures and verification of Islamic 

 

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

النبذة

- 2016/09/04

  النبذة والنشأة

تعدُّ جامعة أم القرى رائدة في العناية بالتراث الإسلامي جمعاً وتحقيقاً ونشراً منذ إنشاء مركز إحياء التراث الإسلامي عام 1396هـ- تابعاً لكلية الشريعة والدراسات الإسلامية- إلى اليوم، واستطاع المركز في فترات مبكرة أن يجمع أمهات المخطوطات الإسلامية من شتى بقاع العالم، واجتمع لديه في زمن مبكر أكثر من (20000) عشرين ألف مخطوطة خدمت أعداداً لا تحصى من أساتذة الجامعات السعودية والعربية والعالمية وطلاب الدراسات العليا في الداخل والخارج، كما أن اختصاصاته الأولية شملت علوم الدراسات الإسلامية واللغة العربية والدراسات التاريخية والحضارية، بالإضافة إلى وظيفته الأساسية في إحياء التراث الإسلامي. واستطاع  المركز نشر ما يقارب من ستين (60) مطبوعاً ما بين كتاب وموسوعة تراثية منذ إنشائه إلى أن صدر الأمر السامي في 8/1/1406هـ بإنشاء معهد البحوث العلمية وإحياء التراث الإسلامي وإدراج مركز إحياء التراث الإسلامي ضمن مراكزه البحثية، وفي 1437/6/27صدر قرار مجلس التعليم بتغييرمسمى معهد البحوث العلمية وإحياء التراث الإسلامي إلى معهد المخطوطات وإحياء التراث الإسلامي، والذي سيُعنى بالمخطوطات وإحياء التراث الإسلامي جمعًا وفهرسة وتحقيقاً، وربط الجامعة بالمجتمع.

وقد كانت ولا تزال المطبوعات التراثية تحتل الصدارة من عناية الباحثين ومقصداً لرواد المعارض الداخلية والدولية ودور النشر الداخلية والدولية؛ نظراً لقيمتها العلمية الرفيعة والتي كان من أحدثها إصداراً "موسوعة المقاصد الشافية" للإمام الشاطبي في (10) عشرة مجلدات، وموسوعة الجامع لابن يونس المالكي في (24) أربعة وعشرين مجلداً، هذا مع ما يمكن ضمه إلى ممتلكات المعهد مما هو موجود لدى جهات أخرى في الجامعة مثل المخطوطات الأصلية والرقمية ومعامل التعقيم والترميم والنشر الإلكتروني لتلك المخطوطات والتي تمتلكها عمادة شؤون المكتبات بجامعة أم القرى، والتي يمكن أن تنقل إلى المعهد عند الموافقة على تحويل مسماه؛ لتكون بذلك وحدة متخصصة ذات قيمة وأهمية بالغة.

ومن المعلوم اهتمام جامعة أم القرى الكبير وجهودها البارزة في مجال تحقيق كنوز التراث الإسلامي ونشره والعناية به، ولعل أبرز وأوضح مثال على ذلك كثرة الرسائل العلمية التي اهتمت بهذا الجانب من خلال مختلف الأقسام العلمية بالجامعة والتي يتجاوز عددها (2000) ألفي رسالة علمية لمرحلتي الماجستير والدكتوراه. 

ونظراً لما تحقق لقسم المخطوطات من تقدم وتطور هائل تمثَّل في دعم مكتبة المصورات الميكروفيلمية بالمزيد من المصورات بعد البحث عنها في مظانها أينما كانت سواءً داخل البلاد أو خارجها بهدف تيسير إمكانات تحقيق التراث الإسلامي للباحثين من أعضاء هيئة التدريس وطلاب الدراسات العليا في مختلف الجامعات، ونظراً لما لقيته تلك المقتنيات من اهتمام بالغ ممن تعاقبوا على قيادة دفة العمل في معهد المخطوطات وإحياء التراث الإسلامي، وعناية بأمور الفهرسة والتصنيف وطباعة الفهارس لتسهيل الوصول إليها آلياً أو تقليدياً، وجلب أحدث أجهزة القراءة والاستنساخ، فقد أضحى ذلك النمو الهائل مبرراً ودافعاً لإنشاء معهد مستقل يعنى بجميع أمور المخطوطات وتحقيق التراث الإسلامي؛ لتعطى هذه النفائس ما تستحق من الاهتمام والدعم بالإضافة إلى ما يلي من المبررات:   

  • جامعة أم القرى رائدة وسباقة في مجال العناية بالتراث الإسلامي، وذلك بإنشاء مركز إحياء التراث الإسلامي عام 1396هـ.
  • قلة وجود منشآت علمية أو تعليمية متخصصة في مجال جمع كنوز التراث وتحقيقه والعناية به ونشره في المملكة العربية السعودية.
  • تبرز أهمية وجود هذا المعهد لتحقيق رسالة قطاع التعليم في المملكة العربية السعودية بصفة عامة وتحقيق رسالة جامعة أم القرى بصورة خاصة في مجال العناية بالثقافة والعلوم الإسلامية، وما يتطلبه من ارتباط بالتراث الإسلامي.
  • تزداد وتتضح أهمية وجود هذا المعهد في إيجاد الكفاءات المتخصصة والمؤهلة والمدربة تدريباً عالياً يمكنهم من العناية بالتراث الإسلامي جمعاً وفحصاً وترتيباً ودراسة وتحقيقاً، مع تقديم ما تحتاجه تلك المخطوطات من عناية فيما يتعلق بالتعقيم والترميم.
  • العمل على إنشاء مراكز بحوث تراث متخصصة في مختلف مجالات المعرفة.
  • سيكون لهذا المعهد دور بارز جداً وذو أهمية بالغة في خدمة مبادرة خادم الحرمين الشريفين الملك عبدالله بن عبدالعزيز – يرحمه الله- الداعية إلى العمل على إثراء المحتوى العربي على الشبكة العالمية (الإنترنت).   
  • توفر البنية التحتية المتكاملة لمعهد المخطوطات وإحياء التراث الإسلامي والمتمثلة فيما يلي:
  • توفر كمية كبيرة من مصورات المخطوطات العالمية النادرة، والتي تصل إلى (80.000) ثمانين ألف مخطوط.
  • توفر معمل إلكتروني متكامل ومجهز لأرشفة المخطوطات ورقمنتها (تحويلها من الصورة السابقة "ورقية أو ميكروفيلم" إلى إلكترونية).
  • ما يمتلكه المعهد من نتاج فكري ضخم في مجال تحقيق التراث؛ حيث أخرج مركز إحياء التراث الإسلامي منذ إنشائه العشرات من المخطوطات النادرة في صورة مطبوعة.
  • ما يملكه المعهد من كفاءات أكاديمية وإدارية وفنية مؤهلة علمياً وفنياً.
  • جاهزية مقر المعهد؛ حيث يحوي على معامل للمخطوطات وخزائن للحفظ وصالات عرض متكاملة.
  • الاستفادة مما لدى الجهات الأخرى في الجامعة من مخطوطات أو ما يتعلق بها، وذلك بناءً على ما ورد في التقرير النهائي للجنة الدائمة لفحص وتقييم المخطوطات من توصيات بدمج ممتلكات الجامعة في هذا المجال.
  • الاستفادة من البنية التحتية الموجودة في مكتبة الملك عبدالله بن عبدالعزيز الجامعية من مخطوطات رقمية أو ورقية أو مصغرات ميكروفيلمية أو معامل تعقيم أو معامل ترميم.

 

  الرســـالـة:

دعم رسالة الجامعة والعناية بالمخطوطات، وإحياء التراث الإسلامي جمعاً وفهرسة وتحقيقاً، وربط الجامعة بالمجتمع.

 

  القيـــــــــم:

1- الالتزام بالمعايير الإسلامية في ضوء العقيدة الصحيحة.

1- الأصالة.

2- الجودة الشاملة.

3- المسؤولية.

4- التعاون.

6- الموضوعية.

7- المصداقية.

 

 

  الأهــــــــداف:                                              

تقوم جامعة أم القرى ممثلة بمعهد المخطوطات وإحياء التراث الإسلامي منذ إنشائه بخدمة المخطوطات جمعاً وفهرسة وتحقيقًا. وتواصلًا مع هذا المنهج وذلك الدور البارز فإن المعهد يهدف إلى ما يلي:

       أولاً: جمع التراث الإسلامي بأصوله ومصوراته من داخل المملكة وخارجها.

ثانياً: العناية بالمخطوطات وفهرستها وتحقيقها وتسهيل وصولها للباحثين.

ثالثاً: تحقيق ونشر المخطوطات الإسلامية في شتى فروع المعرفة.

رابعاً: تقديم الاستشارات العلمية المتخصصة في مجال المخطوطات جمعاً وفهرسة وتحقيقاً.

خامساً: الالتزام بالمعايير الإسلامية في ضوء العقيدة الصحيحة.

سادساً: دعم وتشجيع الباحثين من طلاب الدراسات العليا وأعضاء هيئة التدريس في الجامعات للعمل في مجال تحقيق التراث الإسلامي.

سابعاً: التعاون مع الجهات المشابهة في الداخل والخارج وتبادل المخطوطات والخبرات.

ثامناً: عرض النتاج الفكري المحقق والمنشور في مجال التراث الإسلامي للباحثين في المعرض الكتاب الدائم في مقر معهد المخطوطات وإحياء التراث الإسلامي بالجامعة وفي معارض الكتاب المحلية والدولية.

تاسعاً: إقامة دورات تدريبية في مجال تحقيق ودراسة التراث الإسلامي المخطوط والعناية به.

عاشراً: إجراء البحوث والدراسات المتخصصة في مجالي التعقيم والترميم للمخطوطات الورقية.

 

       الرؤيــــة:

أن يكون المعهد متفرداً على مستوى العالم في مجال جمع كنوز المخطوطات وتحقيق التراث الإسلامي.

جار التحميل