Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

Message from the Department Head


- 2019/10/09

All praise be to Allah the Lord of the worlds, and peace and blessings be upon the most honorable among all the Prophets and Messengers, our Prophet Muhammad, may peace and blessings be upon him.

The academic and administrative staff of the Department of Pharmacognosy welcome your visit to our website, which is a communication channel for those who are interested in getting information about the department. We hope you will find here all the required information about our department, including its vision, mission, study courses, and research activities.

Pharmacognosy is an important branch of pharmaceutical science and the foundation of pharmaceutical manufacturing. In the past, there was considerable reliance on natural resources to discover new medicines. The significant progress achieved in all walks of pharmaceutical basic sciences, including the natural product science, and the community interest in the field led to graduate students equipped with knowledge and skills in this major.

In line with the general policy of the College of Pharmacy designed to achieve excellence in teaching and scientific research, the Department of Pharmacology constantly seeks to develop its study plan to achieve the objectives of the college in general and the objectives of the department in particular to keep pace with developments in this field.

Since its establishment, the department has sought to create a proper education and research environment for students and a collaborative research environment between its academic staff members by offering them participation opportunities in the scientific research process with other colleges and departments to enable them to take advantage of each other's expertise, review new developments in scientific research, and participate in its development.

The department provides several study courses at different academic levels (mentioned in the courses agenda) in the bachelor degree for the Bachelor of Pharmacy program and the Doctor of Pharmacy program. The department also cooperates with the other departments in the master's program.

The department has many staff members with professional and academic expertise who contribute to serving the university and the research community. They have various research interests in fields related to develop processes to discover medicine from natural resources and the healthy practice of evidence-based herbal medicine.

The department aspires to continue boosting the quality of academic learning and its outcomes in line with the needs of the labor market, and to contribute to achieving the vision of the college and the department with the support of the academic staff and those in charge of it.

Thanks to Allah in the first place for this role undertaken by the department of pharmacology, and then to the administration of the university and the deanship of the College of Pharmacy for their continuous support. They deserve much thanks and appreciation.

Head of Pharmacognosy Department

Dr. Al-Jawharah bint Abdullah bin Darwish Al-Qathami

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

كلمة رئيسة القسم


- 2019/10/09

كلمة رئيسة القسم

الحمد لله رب العالمين، والصلاة والسلام على أشرف الأنبياء والمرسلين سيدنا محمد صلى الله عليه وسلم، وبعد:

يرحب أعضاء هيئة التدريس والعاملون بقسم العقاقير بزيارتكم لصفحة القسم، والذي يعد خطوة نحو التواصل مع الراغبين في الحصول على معلومات عن القسم، ونتمنى أن تجدوا في هذه الصفحات ما تنشدونه من معلومات حول القسم، الرؤية، الرسالة، المقررات الدراسية التي يطرحها، وأنشطته البحثية.

إن علم العقاقير من العلوم الأساسية لعلم الصيدلة والتي ارتكزت عليه بقية العلوم لتصنيع الأدوية، حيث اعتمدت بشكل كبير على المصادر الطبيعية في اكتشاف أدوية جديدة منذ العقود الأولى من الزمن. وقد أدى التقدم الكبير في شتى مناحي العلوم الأساسية في الصيدلة ومن ضمنها علم المنتجات الطبيعية والإقبال من المجتمع على مثل هذا المجال إلى الحاجة لتخريج طلاب مزودين بمعارف ومهارات في هذا التخصص.

وتماشياً مع السياسة العامة لكلية الصيدلة للتميز في مجال التدريس والبحث العلمي فإن قسم العقاقير يسعى باستمرار في تطوير خطته الدراسية التي تحقق أهداف الكلية عامة وأهداف القسم بصفة خاصة لتواكب التطورات في هذا المجال.

يسعى القسم منذ تأسيسه - ولا يزال- إلى خلق بيئة تعليمية وبحثية مناسبة لطلابه وطالباته وبيئة بحثية تعاونية بين أعضائه من خلال دعم وتوفير فرص التشارك في عملية البحث العلمي مع الأقسام والكليات المختلفة لتمكين الأعضاء من الاستفادة من خبرات بعضهم البعض، والاطلاع على مستجدات البحث العلمي في المجال والمشاركة في تطويرها.

يقدم القسم عدة مقررات دراسية على مستويات دراسية مختلفة (مذكورة في مقررات القسم) في درجة البكالوريوس لبرنامجي بكالوريوس صيدلة ودكتور صيدلي، كما يتعاون القسم مع الأقسام الأخرى في برنامج الماجستير.

يضم القسم نخبة من أعضاء هيئة التدريس ذوو الخبرة المهنية والأكاديمية؛ والذين يساهمون في خدمة الجامعة والمجتمع البحثي، حيث تتنوع اهتماماتهم البحثية بمجالات مختلفة تتعلق بتطوير أكتشاف الدواء من مصادر طبيعية والممارسات الصحية للطب الأعشاب القائم على البراهين.

ويطمح القسم لمواصلة رفع مستوى التعليم الأكاديمي ومخرجاته ليوائم متطلبات سوق العمل، والمساهمة في تحقيق رؤية الكلية والجامعة بدعم أعضاء هيئة التدريس والمسؤولين فيها.

ختاماً لا يسعني إلا التذكير بأن هذا الدور الذي يقوم به قسم العقاقير لم يكن له أن يتحقق لولا فضل الله سبحانه وتعالى، ثم إدارة الجامعة، وعمادة كلية الصيدلة الداعمة بشكل مستمر، فلهم كل الشكر والتقدير.

رئيسة قسم العقاقير

الدكتورة الجوهرة بنت عبدالله القثامي

جار التحميل