Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

Institutional Research Ethics Board IRB


- 2016/05/10

 

Institutional Research Ethics Board (IRB):

Dr. Abdul Haseeb M. Hanif
Assistant Professor
Department of Clinical Pharmacy
[email protected]
0568560776

UQU Affiliated Members

Dr. Raafat Abdallah
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
[email protected]
0532708951

Dr. Muhammed Ahmed Masood
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology

Dr. Ashraf Nabiel Abdalla Abdrabo
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology
[email protected]
0538903316

Dr. Ihab Talat Ahmed Abdel- Raheem
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
[email protected]
0596265466

Dr. Muhammed Tarique Imam
Lecturer
Department of Clinical Pharmacy
[email protected]

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.">0549166412

Dr. Amal Yousef
Assistant Professor
Department of Clinical Pharmacy


 

A. Goals & Objectives

Faculty of Pharmacy: Institutional review board was established in 2014. The Institutional Review Board (IRB) is responsible for review of all research projects including human subjects under the Faculty of Pharmacy, Umm Al Qura University. Aim of IRB is to provide standard of protection for human subjects in research. All research projects involving human subjects either funded by university funding bodies e.g. IRS, KAST or funded by other sources must be submitted for ethical approval by faculty IRB. All faculty members including students are required to submit complete description of their proposals and obtain IRB approval to initiate research projects. 

 

Unit Policies:

A. Projects Initial Approval Process

All proposed research projects involving human Subjects research should submit online Research Proposal Form to the IRB for initial review before initiating research project. All required fields must be filled and returned to the committee for appraisal. Proposals must include all required documents along with the supporting forms as applicable, e.g. written informed consent form, recruitment advertisements, and survey/questioners etc. In case of absence of such documents, there must be justification of such missing documents.

All applications must be submitted one week before meeting to be considered in the meeting. The committee will contact investigator in two weeks after submission about decision. Review process might delay during holidays and examination period. Further detail might be requested from the investigator in case of any further clarifications. Investigation cannot begin unless approved. Principle investigator will receive official copy of final decision letter for their record.

B. Projects Follow Up:

After initial approval any further changes in the research protocol must be submitted to IRB for approval before commencement. In addition IRB approval of study is valid for one-year period. Any delay in proposed duration must be informed to IRB for further continuation. Submitting Project renewal Form can facilitate this.

Finally, any adverse or unexpected consequence should be reported to the IRB as soon as possible. It includes not only physical injury to the study subject but also violation of research protocol and any patient personnel information disclosure. 

C. Exemptions:

There are some specific types of research project does not require IRB oversight after approval and needs to be clarified in proposal submission form. Board will decide about those exemptions based on research protocol submitted. When project is eligible for except, further communication with IRB regarding continuation and changes in protocol is not required.

Followings are the major categories allowing a project to be eligible for exception for IRB supervision.

  1. Research conducted in educational settings e.g. academic settings involving normal educational practices, like: (i) research on regular and special education instructional strategies, or (ii) research on the effectiveness of such techniques, curricula, or classroom managements. Research on prisoners is excluded from such exception.
  2. All qualitative and quantitative studies involving surveys, interview or observation of public behavior are exempted from IRB oversight after approval unless: (i) subjects can be identified through recordings or on data collection forms; and (ii) any release of subject response put him in civil or criminal liability or harm their employability or status. Research on prisoners is excluded from such exceptions. 

 

D. STUDENTS RESEARCH

IRB committee before any type of commencement should approve all student projects involving human subjects. Each student mentor must submit proposal submission form to IRB. All correspondence regarding students project will be made through their mentors only. All other requirement would be same for student’s research projects for appraisal.

E. Research involving other institutions, e.g. Ministry of Health

Projects including data collection at other institution e.g. universities and/or hospitals require further IRB approval of that organization.

1. Ministry of Health:

According to Ministry of Health all research project proposed to conduct in MOH hospitals must be initially approved by Training & Scholarship administration, Holy Makkah, and then approved by General Directorate of Health, Ministry of Health, Makkah region and later by individual hospital IRB. This is the responsibility of principal investigator to provide all such approvals in order to gain final approval from faculty Institutional Review Board.

2. Armed forces Hospitals including National guard Hospitals

All military hospitals have separate system of approval. Principal applicant must contact research centers of those specific institutions for review process. Once permission granted, Principle investigator must provide copy of approval letter to faculty IRB. As principal investigator relates to faculty, approval by faculty IRB is also required. 

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

مجلس أخلاقيات البحث المؤسسي (IRB)


- 2022/07/24

 

مجلس أخلاقيات البحث المؤسسي (IRB)

دكتور/ عبدالحسيب محمد حنيف

أستاذ مساعد بقسم الصيدلة السريرية

الأعضاء المنتسبون لجامعة أم القرى

دكتور/ رأفت عبدالله

أستاذ مشارك بقسم الأدوية

0532708951

دكتور/ محمد أحمد مسعود

أستاذ مساعد بقسم الأدوية

دكتور/ أشرف نبيل عبد الله عبد ربه

أستاذ مساعد بقسم الأدوية

0538903316

دكتور/ إيهاب طلعت أحمد عبدالرحيم

أستاذ مشارك بقسم الأدوية

0596265466

دكتور/ محمد طارق إمام

محاضر بقسم الصيدلة السريرية

0549166412

دكتور/ أمال يوسف

أستاذ مساعد بقسم الصيدلة السريرية

 

 

 

 

  •  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

الأهداف والأغراض 

أُنشئ مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية في عام 2014. ويتولى مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية (IRB) مسؤولية مراجعة جميع المشروعات البحثية، بما في ذلك موضوعات البحث البشرية في كلية الصيدلة، بجامعة أم القرى. والهدف من مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية توفير مستوى من الحماية لموضوعات البحث البشرية.

يجب أن تخضع جميع المشروعات البحثية التي تتضمن موضوعات بحث بشرية، ممولة إما عن طريق هيئات التمويل التابعة للجامعة مثل IRS،KAST ، أو الممولة من مصادر أخرى، للموافقة الأخلاقية من قِبل مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية بالكلية.

ويجب على جميع أعضاء هيئة التدريس، وكذلك الطلاب، تقديم وصف كامل لمقترحاتهم والحصول على موافقة مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية لبدء المشروعات البحثية.

سياسات الوحدة:

  • عملية الموافقة الأولية على المشروعات

يجب على جميع المشروعات البحثية المقترحة التي تنطوي على بحث بشأن موضوعات بشرية أن تقدم نموذج مقترح بحثي على الإنترنت إلى مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية؛ لإجراء مراجعة أولية قبل بدء المشروع البحثي. ويجب ملء جميع الحقول المطلوبة؛ وإعادة النموذج إلى اللجنة للتقييم. ويجب أن يتضمن مقترحات جميع الوثائق المطلوبة إلى جانب النماذج الداعمة حسبما يكون ملائمًا، على سبيل المثال: نموذج موافقة (واعي) خطي، وإعلانات التعيين، والمسح/الاستبيان وما إلى ذلك. في حالة عدم وجود مثل هذه الوثائق، يجب أن يكون هناك مبرر لعدم وجود تلك الوثائق.

يجب أن تقدم جميع الطلبات قبل أسبوع واحد من الاجتماع للنظر فيها أثناء الاجتماع. وستقوم اللجنة بالاتصال بالباحث في غضون أسبوعين بعد تقديم الطلب لإبلاغه بالقرار. وقد تتأخر عملية المراجعة خلال العطلات وفترة الامتحانات. وربما يتم طلب مزيد من التفاصيل من الباحث في حال وجود الحاجة أي توضيحات أخرى. ولا يمكن أن تبدأ عملية البحث إلا إذا تمت الموافقة عليها. وسوف يتلقى الباحث الرئيسي نسخة رسمية من خطاب القرار النهائي للتسجيل الخاص به.

متابعة المشروعات:

بعد الموافقة المبدئية يجب تقديم أي تغييرات أخرى في بروتوكول البحث لمجلس المراجعة المؤسسية للموافقة عليها قبل البدء. إضافة إلى ذلك يكون اعتماد مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية للدراسة صالحًا لمدة سنة واحدة. ويجب إبلاغ مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية بشأن أي تأخير في المدة المقترحة لتمديد الفترة. ويمكن تسهيل ذلك الأمر من خلال تقديم نموذج تجديد المشروع.

وأخيرًا، يجب إبلاغ مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية عن أي نتيجة سلبية أو غير متوقعة في أقرب وقت ممكن. ويشمل ذلك  الضرر المادي لموضوع الدراسة، أو أي انتهاك لبروتوكول البحث أو أي كشف عن معلومات عن الأشخاص التابعين للمريض.

هناك أنواع معينة من المشروعات البحثية لا تتطلب إشراف مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية بعد الموافقة، وتحتاج إلى التوضيح في نموذج تقديم الاقتراح. وسوف يقرر المجلس تلك الإعفاءات على أساس بروتوكول البحث المقدم عندما يكون المشروع مؤهلاً للاستثناء، ولا تكون هناك حاجة لمزيد من التواصل مع مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية بشأن استمرار البروتوكول وإحداث تغييرات به.

الفئات الرئيسية التي تسمح للمشروع بأن يكون مؤهلاً للاستثناء من إشراف مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية:

  1. البحث الذي يُجرى في البيئات التعليمية؛ مثل الأماكن الأكاديمية التي تشمل ممارسات تعليمية عادية، مثل:

(1) الأبحاث التي تُجرى على استراتيجيات توجيهية تتعلق بالتعليم النظامي والخاص، أو (2) الأبحاث التي تُجرى حول فعالية هذه الطرق، أو المناهج الدراسية، أو إدارات الفصول الدراسية. ويُستبعد من تلك الاستثناءات الأبحاث التي تُجرى على السجناء.

2- تُعفى جميع الدراسات النوعية والكمية التي تنطوي على دراسات استقصائية، أو مقابلات شخصية، أو مراقبة السلوك العام من إشراف مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية بعد الموافقة إلا إذا:

(1) كان من الممكن التعرف على موضوعات البحث من خلال التسجيلات أو على نماذج جمع البيانات؛ و(2) كان أي نشر لرد موضوع البحث سيعرضه لمسؤولية مدنية أو جنائية أو يضر بقدرته على العمل أو يضر بحالته. ويُستبعد من تلك الاستثناءات الأبحاث على تُجرى على السجناء.

  • أبحاث الطلاب

قبل أي نوع من بدء البحث، يجب أن يوافق مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية على جميع المشروعات الطلابية التي تُجرى على البشر. ويجب أن يقوم معلم كل طالب بتقديم نموذج تقديم اقتراح إلى مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية. وسوف تتم جميع المراسلات المتعلقة بالمشروعات الطلابية من خلال معلميهم فقط. وتسري جميع شروط التقييم الأخرى على المشروعات البحثية للطلاب.

 

  • الأبحاث التي تتضمن مؤسسات أخرى، على سبيل المثال، وزارة الصحة

المشروعات التي تتضمن جمع البيانات في مؤسسة أخرى، مثل الجامعات و/أو المستشفيات، تتطلب اعتمادًا آخر من مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية لتلك المؤسسة.

  1. وزارة الصحة:

وفقًا لوزارة الصحة، يجب الاعتماد المبدئي لجميع المشروعات البحثية المقترح إجرائها في مستشفيات وزارة الصحة من قِبل إدارة التدريب والابتعاث، بمكة المكرمة، ثم اعتمادها بعد ذلك من قِبل المديرية العامة للصحة، بوزارة الصحة، بمنطقة مكة المكرمة ومن ثمّ اعتمادها من قِبل مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية لكل مستشفى. وتقع المسؤولية على عاتق الباحث الرئيسي لتقديم جميع هذه الموافقات للحصول على الموافقة النهائية من مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية للكلية.

2 - مستشفيات القوات المسلحة بما في ذلك مستشفيات الحرس الوطني

تملك جميع المستشفيات العسكرية نظام موافقة مختلفًا. ويجب على مقدم الطلب الرئيسي الاتصال بمراكز الأبحاث الخاصة بتلك المؤسسات لإتمام عملية المراجعة. وعند الحصول على الموافقة، يقوم الباحث الرئيسي بتقديم نسخة من خطاب الموافقة إلى مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية بالكلية. وبما أن الباحث الرئيسي ينتمي للكلية، يجب عليه أيضًا الحصول على موافقة مجلس المراجعة المؤسسية بالكلية.

 

جار التحميل