Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

About the Chair


- 2016/08/25

The establishment of Prince Salman bin Abdulaziz Chair for Makkah Historical Studies at Umm Al-Qura University was an image of His Majesty’s interest in history. It pointed, also, to his a support of historical studies, especially the history of Mecca, Kaaba, the Sanctuary, the Holy Sites, Rites, Verses, Hajj and Umrah pilgrimages, birthplace of Islam, landing spot of the Holy Revelation, and the Kiblah towards which millions of Muslims turn for prayer every day.

This gracious initiative is a continuation of the King's efforts in serving the national and Islamic history, owing to his reputation as a fan of history and historians, his interest in this science that he reads about, criticizes, follows up, narrates, classifies and supports. This interest is reflected in His Highness’ chairing King Abdulaziz Foundation, his honorary presidency of the Saudi Historical Society, his sponsorship of many seminars and scientific gatherings on the history of KSA and the Arabian Peninsula’s.

Certainly, his award for the Arabian Peninsula History Studies stands out as a witness of his passion for history, which rightfully gains him the title “Prince of Historians”. This chair will be complementary to the role played by Mecca History Center and King Abdualziz Foundation in serving national and Islamic history. Moreover, the partnership of King Abdualziz Foundation with Umm Al-Qura University in the chair of Prince Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud for the Study of Mecca’s History will enrich the historical intellectual movement and inspire the elucidation of great core values in the history of our great Nation Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in particular and the history of the Arabian Peninsula and the Islamic history in general, as well as the beacon of guidance and light, Mecca.

Also, the partnership of Umm Al-Qura University with the Foundation reflects its desire to strengthen community partnership through the research chairs in realizing its scientific mission and achieving excellence and research creativity. The importance of this chair is that it combines two symbols: Salman and Mecca; the collaboration of King Abdulaziz Foundation and Umm Ql-Qura University in  managing it, making everyone foresees for this chair success in realizing its objectives, accomplishing its programs and excellence of learning.

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

التعريف بالكرسي


- 2016/08/25

جاء تأسيس كرسي الملك سلمان بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود لدراسات تاريخ مكة المكرمة في جامعة أم القرى اهتماماً من خادم الحرمين الشريفين بعلم التاريخ، ودعماً للدراسات التاريخية، وبخاصة تاريخ مدينة مكة المكرمة، الكعبة الحرم، المشاعر، الشعائر، الآيات، المُحج والمعتمر، دار البعثة ومهبط الوحي، ومهوى الأفئدة وقبلة المسلمين.

وتأتي هذه المبادرة الكريمة من خادم الحرمين الشريفين استمراراً لجهوده في خدمة التاريخ الوطني والإسلامي، لما عرف عنه من حبٍّ للتاريخ والمؤرخين، واهتماماً بهذا العلم قراءةً ونقداً ومتابعةً وروايةً وتصنيفاً ودعماً، ومن مظاهر هذا الاهتمام رئاسة الملك سلمان بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود لمجلس إدارة دارة الملك عبدالعزيز، ورئاسته الفخرية للجمعية التاريخية السعودية، ورعايته لعدد من الندوات واللقاءات العلمية عن تاريخ المملكة العربية السعودية، وتاريخ الجزيرة العربية.

ولاشك أن جائزة خادم الحرمين الشريفين لدراسات تاريخ الجزيرة العربية شاهدٌ على مدى اهتمام الملك سلمان بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود التاريخي؛ الأمر الذي حق لنا معه أن نصفه بــ "أمير المؤرخين". وسيكون هذا الكرسي مكملاً لدور مركز تاريخ مكة المكرمة ودارة الملك عبدالعزيز في خدمة التاريخ الوطني والإسلامي، كما أن شراكة دارة الملك عبدالعزيز مع جامعة أم القرى في كرسي الأمير سلمان بن عبدالعزيز "آنذاك" لدراسات تاريخ مكة المكرمة ستكون إثراءً لحركة الفكر التاريخي، وملهمةً لاستجلاء القيم العظيمة في تاريخ وطننا العزيز المملكة العربية السعودية خاصة، وتاريخ الجزيرة العربية والتاريخ الإسلامي عامة، ومنارة الهدى والنور مكة المكرمة.

كما أن شراكة جامعة أم القرى مع الدارة تمثل من وجهٍ آخر رغبتها في تعزيز الشراكة المجتمعية من خلال كراسي البحث في تحقيق رسالتها العلمية وتحقيق التميز والإبداع البحثي. وتتمثل أهمية هذا الكرسي في جمعه بين رمزين: سلمان ومكة، واشتراك جامعة أم القرى والدارة في القيام على أمره؛ مما يجعل الكل يستشرف لهذا الكرسي النجاح في تحقيق أهدافه، وإنجاز برامجه، وتميز دراساته.

جار التحميل