Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

Message from the Head of Chemistry Department


- 2020/06/20

كلمة رئيس القسم

In the Name of Allah, Who taught by the pen. He taught man that which he knew not. May Allah’s peace, mercy, and blessings be upon Prophet Muhammad, his family, and his companions! To proceed:

On my own behalf, and on behalf of my fellow academic members and staff in the Department of Chemistry at the College of Applied Sciences, I welcome you to the page of the Department of Chemistry.

The word 'chemistry' was originally derived from the Arabic word 'kama', i.e., to hide or cover. It was not mentioned in any civilization or language before the Arabs. This science was called 'kemyaa' (chemistry) because it was known to only a few people. Similarly, the word 'ghawl' (alcohol) is mentioned in the Noble Qur’an: "No ghawl (alcohol or any bad effect) is there in it, nor from it will they be intoxicated" [Surat Al-Saffat: 47].

Chemistry is one of the most important applied basic sciences because of its relationship with and influence on all sciences, in addition to its significant impact on the development of the scientific and industrial fields.

The Department of Chemistry has taken upon itself, since it was founded in the year 1401 A.H. in the College of Applied Sciences as one of the leading core departments, to provide knowledge, training and excellence in all areas of chemistry. The Department of Chemistry in the College of Applied Sciences at Umm Al-Qura University is distinguished with the presence of teaching staff with research capabilities and creative energy. The staff work to serve the community and graduate a generation that is able to enrich the knowledge community and support the nation’s economy in the future, Allah willing.

Finally, the department has a belief in its active role in achieving the university’s aspirations and the vision of our government to develop the local community and become a pioneer in the scientific, research and industrial fields. Therefore, the department constantly works hard to develop its capabilities in order to raise the quality levels of its outputs and gain more distinction, in line with future aspirations.

Head of the Chemistry Department

Dr. Muataz bin Hashim bin Sulaiman Murad

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

كلمة رئيس قسم الكيمياء


- 2020/06/20

كلمة رئيس القسم

بسم الله والحمد لله الذي علم بالقلم، علم الإنسان ما لم يعلم، والصلاة والسلام على سيدنا رسول الله، وعلى آله وصحبه وسلم، أما بعد..

بالأصالة عن نفسي، وبالنيابة عن زملائي أعضاء هيئة التدريس والعاملين في قسم الكيمياء بكلية العلوم التطبيقية، أرحب بكم في صفحة قسم الكيمياء.

أصل كلمة "كيمياء" هو من اللغة العربية ومشتق من "كمى" أي أخفى وستر، ولم يرد ذكرها في أي حضارة أو لغة قبل العرب، وسمي العلم كيمياءً لأن هذا العلم كان متداولاً بين القليل من الناس. وقد ورد ذكر الغَول (الكحول) في القرآن الكريم (لَا فِيهَا غَوْلٌ وَلَا هُمْ عَنْهَا يُنزَفُونَ) سورة الصافات.

علم الكيمياء يعتبر من أهم العلوم الأساسية التطبيقية؛ وذلك لما له من ارتباط وتأثير على كافة العلوم، إضافة إلى تأثيره الرئيسي لتنمية العجلة العلمية والصناعية.

ولقد أخذ قسم الكيمياء على عاتقه، ومنذ لحظة تأسسه في عام 1401 هجرياً، في كلية العلوم التطبيقية كأحد الأقسام الأساسية الرائدة في توفير المعرفة والتدريب والتميز في كافة مجالات علم الكيمياء. حيث يتميز قسم الكيمياء بكلية العلوم التطبيقية في جامعة أم القرى بوجود طاقم تدريسي يتمتعون بالقدرة البحثية والطاقة الإبداعية، لخدمة المجتمع وتخريج جيل قادر على إثراء مجتمع المعرفة ودعم اقتصاد الوطن مستقبلاً بإذن الله.

أخيراً فإن إيمان القسم بدوره الفاعل في تحقيق تطلعات الجامعة، ورؤية حكومتنا الغالية في تنمية المجتمع المحلي والريادة في المجالات العلمية والبحثية والصناعية، ويعمل القسم بجد مستمر لتطوير إمكانياته لرفع جودة مخرجاته لحصد المزيد من التميز بما يواكب التطلعات المستقبلية.

                 رئيس قسم الكيمياء

           د. معتز بن هاشم سليمان مراد

جار التحميل