Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

Overview


- 2016/06/09

Environmental Engineering Department (EED) is one of departments of the College of Engineering in Leith affiliated to Umm Al-Qura University. It was inaugurated at the beginning of the Academic Year 1435/1436 H. to be the second of its kind in the Kingdom based on the date of the first Bachelor Degree in Environmental Engineering.

The EED aims to implement the basic sciences and engineering to improve the environmental quality. The department aims to graduate an environmental engineer able to recognize the environmental problems, solve them and control them via the ability to study the impacts on the environment of industrial projects and human activities. It also aims to set up pollutant treatment mechanisms, design and management of waste disposal, sewage and industrial wastewater treatment, provision of clean water and maintain water resources. In addition, it also aims to provide graduates with systems and managements for depollution of water, air pollution measuring and controlling systems and environmental issues watching.

The department introduces the graduates to possible environmental problems in the world, modern trends to stop environmental threats to enable them to interact with the international environmental issues.

 

Mission:

Achieve the department vision of educating distinguished engineers who are able to solve and evaluate complex environmental problems, design, run and operate projects of environmental engineering and providing the graduates with the ability to continuous learning to enable them to continue their post-graduate studies and help the community to continue acquiring the luxury for them through providing consultancy services and proceed on with applied researches.

Objective:

  1. To graduate specialized engineering cadres in environmental engineering and relevant areas that include air, soil and water resources contamination. The high-caliber cadres must possess Islamic values, and the ability to spread culture and environmental ethics.
  2. To enable engineering cadres to prepare studies on environmental issues of proposed projects in construction and industry and able to follow professional licenses and certificates, follow up implementation of environmental policies and regulations in relation to public institutions and private organizations.
  3. To provide advice on limit pollution and evaluate environmental risks, spread environmental culture via training courses, publications, and translations.
  4. To conduct theoretical and practical studies to solve diverse environmental problems.

 

Vision:

To make the Environmental Engineering Department one of the effective pioneers in improving environment sustainable development in the region.

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

النبذة


- 2016/06/09

قسم الهندسة البيئية هو أحد أقسام كلية الهندسة بمحافظة الليث التابعة لجامعة أم القرى. تم افتتاحه في بداية السنة الأكاديمية لعام 1435/1436هـ، ليكون ثاني قسم في المملكة من حيث تاريخ النشأة يمنح درجة البكالوريوس في الهندسة البيئية.

يهدف تخصص الهندسة البيئية إلى تطبيق أساسيات العلوم والهندسة لتحسين جودة البيئة والتي تشمل الهواء والماء والتربة. ويُعنى القسم بتخريج مهندس بيئي قادر على التعرف على المشاكل البيئية ومعالجتها، والحد منها من خلال القدرة على تقييم الأثر البيئي للمشاريع الصناعية والأنشطة البشرية، ووضع أنظمة لمعالجة الملوثات، وتصميم وإدارة مشاريع التخلص من النفايات، ومشاريع معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي والصرف الصناعي، ومشاريع الإمداد بالمياه البلدية النظيفة، والمحافظة على مصادر المياه. يضاف إلى ذلك وضع وإدارة أنظمة التخلص من الملوثات، وأنظمة قياس تلوث الهواء والحد منه، وأنظمة المراقبة للتنبؤ بالمخاطر البيئية ومنع حدوثها.

ويهيئ القسم خريجيه للتعرف على المشاكل البيئية المحتملة في العالم، والاتجاهات الحديثة لمنع المخاطر البيئية؛ ليكون قادراً على التفاعل مع الموضوعات البيئية العالمية. 

الرسالة:

تحقيق رؤية القسم بتخريج مهندسين متميزين قادرين على تحديد وتقييم وحلِّ المشاكل البيئية المعقدة، وتصميم وإدارة وتشغيل عمليات ومشاريع الهندسة البيئية، ومنح  الخريجين القدرة على التعلم المستمر لتمكنهم من مواصلة الدراسات العليا، ومساعدة المجتمع للمضي قدماً في رفاهية الجمهور من خلال تقديم الخدمات الاستشارية وإجراء الأبحاث التطبيقية.

أهداف القسم:

  1. تخريج الكوادر الهندسية المتخصصة في وظائف الهندسة البيئية المجالات ذات الصلة، والتي تشمل الحد من تلوث الهواء والتربة والموارد المائية. وأن تتمتع هذه الكوادر بالمهنية العالية مع القيم الإسلامية، والقدرة على نشر الثقافة والأخلاق البيئية.
  2. أن تكون الكوادر الهندسية قادرة على إعداد دراسات عن الأثر البيئي للمشاريع المقترحة في البناء والصناعة، وقادرة على متابعة التراخيص المهنية والشهادات، ومراقبة تنفيذ السياسات واللوائح البيئية فيما يتعلق بأدوار ومسؤوليات المؤسسات العامة والمنظمات الخاصة.
  3.  تقديم المشورة بشأن الحد من التلوث وتقييم الأخطار البيئية، ونشر الثقافة البيئية من خلال الدورات التدريبية والتأليف والترجمة.
  4. إجراء الأبحاث النظرية والتطبيقية نحو حل المشاكل البيئية المتنوعة.

الرؤية:

أن يصبح قسم الهندسة البيئية من الرواد الفاعلين في تحسين البيئة والتنمية المستدامة في المنطقة.

جار التحميل