Overview - Deanship of Library Affairs - Vice-President for Graduate Studies and Scientific Research | Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

Overview


- 2016/05/26

Deanship of Library Affairs was established. The headquarters of the library was built in the on-campus housing in al-Abidiah in 1424 AH. It was inaugurated in the presence of His Royal Highness Prince Abdul Majeed Ibn Abdul Aziz Al Saud, Emir of Mecca in 1425AH. It was named:  King Abdullah Ibn Abdul Aziz University Library.

King Abdullah Ibn Abdulaziz University Library is considered a scientific, cultural, educational, and social institution. It aims to collect information sources, develop them in different ways (purchase, donation, exchange, and deposit), organize and retrieve them in the shortest possible time, and to provide them to the different beneficiaries through a combination of traditional services such as borrowing, references, periodicals, photocopying and modern services such as ongoing briefing, information selective-broadcasting and other specialized services. All this are provided by efficient persons who are qualified scientifically and technically in the field of library and information science.

University Library was established in 1388 AH via unifying the library of the College of Shari’a and that of the College of Education in one library. In1391 AH, the two Colleges (College of Education and that of Shari’a) and the affiliated university library were joined to King Abdul Aziz University. In1394 AH, a new building consisting of three floors was constructed to the University Library at the university headquarters in al-Aziziah.

 

Vision:

  •  Demonstrating leadership in providing information services, supporting scientific research, and serving the local and international community.

 

Values:

  • Serving knowledge and scholars.
  • Cooperation.
  • Initiative.
  • Altruism.
  • Accuracy.
  • Excellence.
  • Truthfulness.
  • Honesty.

 

Objectives:

The mission of the library is an integral part of the mission of the university, i.e. to provide high scientific qualifications and educational and cultural preparation for the graduation of qualified national cadres. The library is the body entrusted with providing research services and getting programs, tools and complementary materials to the educational process. The objectives of the library include:

  • The provision of human knowledge to serve the various disciplines in the university.
  • The development of office systems in line with modern developments in the field of library and information services.
  • The provision of information and library services to facilitate search and retrieval, through the issued publications, catalogs, bibliographies, guides, and others.
  • The exchange of university and deanship publications with the universities and scientific institutions at home and abroad, and the cooperation and coordination with the equivalent authorities.
  • The preparation of orientation programs for male and female students and faculty members to explain the services provided, train them on how to use the available sources of information, and how to take advantage of the deanship materials.
  • The provision of services for beneficiaries by replying to inquiries and answering requests as soon as possible.
  • Creating the favorable climate inside the library for study and research.

Summary

  • Offering the available sources of information to be accessible to readers and researchers as soon as possible.




Loading

جامعة أم القرى

النبذة


- 2016/05/26

أُنشئت عمادة شؤون المكتبات. وتم بناء مقر المكتبة في المدينة الجامعية بالعابدية في عام 1424هـ، وتم افتتاحها بحضور صاحب السمو الملكي الأمير عبدالمجيد بن عبدالعزيز آل سعود أمير منطقة مكة المكرمة في العام 1425هـ، وتم تسميتها مكتبة الملك عبدالله بن عبدالعزيز الجامعية.

وتعتبر مكتبة الملك عبدالله بن عبدالعزيز الجامعية هي مؤسسة علمية ثقافية تربوية اجتماعية. تهدف إلى جمع مصادر المعلومات وتنميتها بالطرق المختلفة (الشراء، الإهداء، التبادل، والإيداع)، وتنظيمها واسترجاعها بأقصر وقت ممكن، وتقديمها إلى مجتمع المستفيدين على اختلافهم من خلال مجموعة من الخدمات التقليدية، كخدمات الإعارة والمراجع والدوريات والتصوير والخدمات الحديثة كخدمات الإحاطة الجارية، والبث الانتقائي للمعلومات، والخدمات الأخرى المحسوبة، وذلك عن طريق كفاءات بشرية مؤهله علمياً وفنياً وتقنياً في مجال علم المكتبات والمعلومات.

وقد تأسست المكتبة الجامعية في سنة 1388هـ، وذلك بتوحيد مكتبتي كليتي الشريعة والتربية في مكتبة واحدة. وفي عام 1391هـ، ضمت الكليتان ( كلية التربية والشريعة) والمكتبة الجامعية الملحقة بهما إلى جامعة الملك عبدالعزيز. وفي عام 1394هـ، شيد للمكتبة الجامعية مبنى جديد مكون من ثلاثة طوابق بمقر الجامعة بالعزيزية.

 

الرؤية: 

  • الريادة في تقديم خدمات المعلومات، ودعم البحث العلمي، وخدمة المجتمع المحلي والعالمي.

 

القيم:

  • خدمة العلم وأهله.
  • التعاون.
  • المبادرة. 
  • الإيثار.
  • الدقة.
  • التميز.
  • الصدق.
  • الأمانة. 

 

الأهداف:

إن رسالة المكتبة جزء لا يتجزأ من رسالة الجامعة، والتي تتمثل في التأهيل العلمي العالي والإعداد التربوي والثقافي لتخريج كوادر وطنية مؤهلة، والمكتبة هي الجهة المناط بها تقديم خدمات بحثية، وتوفير واقتناء البرامج والأدوات والمواد المكملة للعملية التعليمية. وتشتمل أهدافها:

  • توفير مصادر المعرفة الإنسانية لخدمة التخصصات العلمية المختلفة بالجامعة.
  • تطوير النظم المكتبية بما يتفق مع التطورات الحديثة في مجال خدمات المكتبات والمعلومات.
  • تقديم الخدمات المعلوماتية والمكتبية لتيسير سبل البحث والاسترجاع، وذلك من خلال ما تصدره من مطبوعات، فهارس ببلوجرافيات، أدلة، كشافات، ...وغيرها.
  • تبادل مطبوعات الجامعة ومطبوعات العمادة مع الجامعات والمؤسسات العلمية بالداخل والخارج، والتعاون والتنسيق مع الجهات المماثلة.
  • إعداد برامج تعريفية للطلاب والطالبات وأعضاء هيئة التدريس بالخدمات التي تقدمها، والتدريب على كيفية استخدام مصادر المعلومات المتوفرة، وكيفية الاستفادة من موجودات العمادة.
  • تقديم خدمات للمستفيدين عن طريق الرد عن الاستفسارات، وتلبية الطلبات في أسرع وقت ممكن.
  • تهيئة المناخ المناسب داخل المكتبة للدراسة والبحث.

ملخص الأهداف

  • وضع ما يتوافر لديها من مصادر المعلومات في متناول القراء والباحثين بأسرع وقت ممكن.

 

 

 

 

جار التحميل