Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

About the Website


- 2019/04/17

In today's information age, information power has become one of the necessary powers like natural, physical, and human powers, as several developed countries rely on information power, and realize its importance for achieving progress and advancement. Therefore, they are described as information communities or knowledge communities. The economy of these countries relies on information power for research, exploration, production, processing, control, and publication in order to utilize it in creating a civilized information community that assimilates, complies, and interacts with modern and renewable technologies.

Hence the importance of scientific majors concerned with the field of information and its relevant issues. A long time ago, when the information field first emerged, it included library science, but now information science is dominating due to its power and importance. Therefore, the trends in the libraries of many universities, institutes, and colleges in different countries around the world have started to focus on the field of information, which is called information science. This was the methodology adopted by the Department of Library and Information Sciences at the UQU College of Social Sciences in Makkah, as its name has changed to the Department of Information Science.

In order for this department to keep pace with the global development of the specialization of information, most of the Departments of Information around the world, particularly in North America, have become independent colleges or part of the Colleges of Computers. Therefore, the Department of Information Science has been transferred from the College of Social Sciences to the College of Computers and Information Systems, according to the recommendation of the University Council.

The department is currently preparing a new study plan, and seeks to offer the Bachelor of Sciences Program in the major of information science out of its belief in the importance of developing its courses to keep pace with the global development of this major. This is in order for the department to be in conformity with the objectives of the university and the College of Computers and Information Systems, and to link educational outcomes with labor market requirements.

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

حول الموقع


- 2019/04/17

في عصر المعلومات الحاضر، أصبحت قوة المعلومات واحدة من القوى الضرورية، إضافة إلى القوى الأخرى كالطبيعية والمادية والبشرية وغيرها، حيث تعتمد كثير من الدول المتقدمة قوة المعلومات، وتدرك أهميتها من أجل الرقي والتطور حتى وُصفت بأنها مجتمعات المعلومات أو مجتمعات المعرفة. فأصبحت تعتمد أساساً عليها في اقتصادها من خلال عمليات البحث والاستكشاف والإنتاج والمعالجة والتحكم والنشر؛ للاستفادة منها في المساهمة في بناء مجتمع حضاري معلوماتي يتواكب مع التقنيات المعلوماتية الحديثة والمتجددة ويستوعبها ويتفاعل معها.

ومن هنا تأتي أهمية التخصصات والمجالات العلمية التي تعمل في حقول متصلة بالمعلومات والقضايا المرتبطة بها، فمجال المعلومات قد بدأ كمجال يشمل علوم المكتبات منذ فترة طويلة إلى أن طغت المعلومات وقوتها وأهميتها لتكون هي المسيطرة؛ نتيجة لذلك فقد تحولت غالبية مدارس المكتبات في الكثير من الجامعات والمعاهد والكليات في دول العالم المختلفة إلى التركيز على الجانب المعلوماتي لهذا المجال، وسميت بمدارس علم أو علوم المعلومات، وهذا هو المنهج الذي انتهجه قسم علم المكتبات والمعلومات بكلية العلوم الاجتماعية بجامعة أم القرى بمكة المكرمة؛ ليصبح قسم علم المعلومات.

ومواكبة من القسم للتطور العالمي لتخصص المعلومات حيث إن أغلب أقسام المعلومات حول العالم -وبالأخص في أمريكا الشمالية- أصبحت مدارس أو كليات مستقلة أو جزءًا من كليات الحاسب، فقد تم نقل قسم علم المعلومات من كلية العلوم الاجتماعية إلى كلية الحاسب الآلي ونظم المعلومات بناءً على توصية مجلس الجامعة.  

وإيماناً من القسم بتطوير مناهجه لمواكبة التطورات العالمية في التخصص، وتماشياً مع أهداف الجامعة لتحقيق أفضل المستويات العلمية وأهداف كلية الحاسب الآلي ونظم المعلومات، وللربط بين مخرجات التعليم ومتطلبات سوق العمل، فإن القسم يقوم حالياً بإعداد خطة دراسية جديدة، ويسعى لتقديم برنامج بكالوريوس في العلوم في تخصص علم المعلومات.

جار التحميل