Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

General Framework of the Chair: Importance and Reasons for Establishment


- 2020/11/03

A report issued by the Health Information and Awareness Center at the Ministry of Health stated, "Cardiovascular diseases, including heart attacks and strokes, are considered among the most deadly diseases in the world. They take the lives of 17.3 million people every year. This number may increase. In addition, 23 million people are expected to die in 2030 if there are no effective interventions."

The report emphasized, "Following an unhealthy diet, lack of physical activity, and tobacco use are considered among the main pathogens of cardiovascular diseases. The effects of unhealthy food and physical inactivity in individuals are manifested in high blood pressure, high blood glucose and lipid content, excessive weight gain and obesity."

According to the statistical yearbook of the Ministry of Health and the World Health Organization, heart disease was the cause of 42% of deaths from non-communicable diseases in the Saudi Kingdom during the year 2010.

The report of the Information Center stated that cardiovascular diseases are a group of disorders that affect the heart and blood vessels. It pointed out that these disorders include:

  • Coronary heart disease: which is a disease that affects the blood vessels that supply the heart muscle.
  • Cerebrovascular diseases: which are diseases that affect the vessels that supply the brain.
  • Peripheral arterial diseases: which are diseases that affect the blood vessels supplying the arms and legs.
  • Rheumatic heart disease: which is a disease of the heart muscle and heart valves due to rheumatic fever caused by streptococcal bacteria.
  • Congenital heart diseases: These are abnormalities of the cardiac structure that are noticed at birth.
  • And finally, deep vein thrombosis, or pulmonary embolism: These are blood clots that appear in the veins of the legs and can travel to the heart and lungs.

The report explained, "Heart attacks and strokes are severe events, which are caused by a blockage that prevents blood from flowing to the heart or brain. The most common cause of blockage is the formation of fatty deposits in the inner walls of the vessels supplying the heart or brain. Strokes can also be caused by bleeding from a blood vessel in the brain or from a blood clot."

Regarding the most common symptoms of cardiovascular diseases, the report indicated, "There are usually no symptoms that warn of the occurrence of latent diseases affecting the blood vessels. A heart attack or stroke may be the first warning of the occurrence of these diseases. Symptoms of a heart attack include: pain in the center of the chest, arms, left shoulder, elbows, jaw, or back. Moreover, the patient may experience difficulty in breathing or shortness of breath, nausea or vomiting, dizziness or fainting, cold sweat, or pallor in the face."

The most common symptoms of a stroke, according to the report, are, "Sudden weakness in the face, arm, or leg, which often occurs on one side of the body; a sudden feeling of numbness in the face, arm, or leg, specifically on one side of the body; difficulty speaking or understanding other people's words; difficulty seeing with one or both eyes; difficulty in walking, feeling dizzy, or losing one’s balance; severe headache without any apparent cause; and fainting. People who show these symptoms should seek medical care immediately."

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

الإطار العام للكرسي - أهميته ومبررات إنشائه


- 2020/11/03

أوضح تقرير صدر عن مركز الإعلام والتوعية الصحية بوزارة الصحة أن "الأمراض القلبية الوعائية، بما في ذلك النوبات القلبية والسكتات الدماغية، تعتبر من أهم الأمراض الفتّاكة في العالم، إذ تحصد أرواح 17.3 مليون نسمة كل عام، وهذا العدد قابل للزيادة، كما أنه من المتوقع وفاة 23 مليون شخص في عام 2030م إذا لم يكن هناك تدخلات فعالة". 

وشدد التقرير على أن "اتّباع نظام غذائي غير صحي، وعدم ممارسة النشاط البدني، وتعاطي التبغ، تعتبر من أبرز العوامل المسببة للأمراض القلبية الوعائية؛ حيث تتجلى آثار الغذاء غير الصحي والخمول البدني لدى الأفراد في ارتفاع ضغط الدم، ونسبة الغلوكوز والدهون في الدم، وزيادة الوزن بشكل مفرط والإصابة بالسمنة".

وبحسب الكتاب الإحصائي السنوي لوزارة الصحة ومنظمة الصحة العالمية، فإن أمراض القلب تعد السبب في 42% من حالات الوفاة من الأمراض غير المعدية بالمملكة للعام 2010م.

وأوضح تقرير مركز المعلومات أن "الأمراض القلبية الوعائية هي عبارة عن مجموعة من الاضطرابات التي تُصيب القلب والأوعية الدموية، وتلك الاضطرابات تشمل:

- أمراض القلب التاجية: وهي أمراض تُصيب أوعية الدم التي تُغذي عضلة القلب.

- والأمراض الدماغية الوعائية: وهي أمراض تُصيب الأوعية التي تغذي الدماغ.

- والأمراض الشريانية المحيطية: وهي أمراض تصيب الأوعية الدموية التي تغذي الذراعين والساقين.

- وأمراض القلب الروماتزمية: وهي أمراض تصيب العضلة القلبية وصمامات القلب بسبب حمى روماتزمية ناجمة عن جراثيم العقديات.

- وأمراض القلب الخلقية: وهي تشوّهات تُلاحظ عند الولادة في الهيكل القلبي.

- وأخيرًا الخثار الوريدي العميق، أو الانصمام الرئوي: وهي الجلطات الدموية التي تظهر في أوردة الساقين والتي يمكنها الانتقال إلى القلب والرئتين".

وأشار التقرير إلى أن "النوبات القلبية والسكتات الدماغية تُعد أحداثًا وخيمة، وهي تنجم عن انسداد يحول دون تدفق الدم وبلوغه القلب أو الدماغ. وأكثر أسباب الانسداد شيوعًا هو تشكّل رواسب دهنية في الجدران الداخلية للأوعية التي تغذي القلب أو الدماغ، ويمكن أن تحدث السكتات الدماغية أيضًا بسبب نزف من أحد أوعية الدماغ الدموية أو من الجلطات الدموية". 

وعن أبرز الأعراض الشائعة للأمراض القلبية الوعائية، جاء في التقرير أنه "لا توجد في أغلب الأحيان أي أعراض تُنذر بحدوث الأمراض الكامنة التي تُصيب الأوعية الدموية، فقد تكون النوبة القلبية أو السكتة الدماغية الإنذار الأوّل بحدوث تلك الأمراض. وتشمل أعراض النوبة القلبية: ألمًا في وسط الصدر أو الذراعين أو الكتف الأيسر أو المرفقين أو الفك أو الظهر، وقد يعاني المريض -علاوة على ذلك- صعوبة في التنفس أو ضيق النفس؛ والغثيان أو التقيّؤ، والدوخة أو الإغماء؛ والعرق البارد؛ والشحوب في الوجه".

أما أبرز أعراض السكتة الدماغية شيوعًا بحسب التقرير فهي: "حدوث ضعف مفاجئ في الوجه أو الذراع أو الساق، وغالبًا ما يحدث ذلك في جانب واحد من الجسم، شعور مفاجئ بالخدر في الوجه أو الذراع أو الساق في جانب واحد من الجسد على وجه التحديد؛ صعوبة في الكلام أو في فهم كلام الآخرين؛ وصعوبة في الرؤية بعين واحدة أو بكلتا العينين؛ وصعوبة في المشي، أو الشعور بالدوخة أو فقدان التوازن، وصداع شديد بدون سبب ظاهر؛ والإصابة بالإغماء، وينبغي للأشخاص الذين تظهر عليهم هذه الأعراض التماس الرعاية الطبية على الفور".

جار التحميل