Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

The 2030 Vision of Scientific Research Deanship


- 2019/10/13

The vision of the Deanship of Scientific Research stems from the vision of UQU which is based on the importance of leadership in scientific research alongside with leadership in education and community service. Its vision relies mainly on (making UQU a reliable research reference in science and a key driver in the management and leadership of the knowledge economy and society as well as a key pillar in supporting scientific decision-making in Saudi Arabia).

Achieving the vision in the knowledge society is not easy, especially that the Deanship has adopted in building its strategic foundations a set of Islamic values that frame all its research activities. They include: Reliability, integrity, respect, shared responsibility, transparency, originality, honesty, quality and excellence. Therefore, it was important for the vision to be clear and derive its sources and operational plans without breaking the fixed Islamic values, even if this takes a lot of effort and a longer period of time than hoped.

In the first stages of support, the Deanship gave attention to all the segments of the knowledge society in the university (professor, associate professor/lecturer, teaching assistant, postgraduate student, undergraduate student). External research support programs included (Ma’arefa “Knowledge” Program, Saudi Basic Industries Corporation “SABIC” Grant Program, (KACST Grant Program), while internal support programs include (Ra’ed “Pioneer”, Baheth “Researcher”, and Wa’eda “Promising”). They aim to involve all segments of this community to increase the chance of obtaining support and raise the level of the knowledge society in a balance that suits the Deanship’s strategic objectives. The Deanship also focused on completing the individual support system (Publisher/Student Program for Graduate Studies, “Ambassadors Program” for graduate studies and bachelor students, and “Author and Translator program” to encourage scientific research with e-regulations and systems that ensure high-quality research proposals submitted to the Deanship in terms of presentation, arbitration and decision-making).

Building research skills and establishing the achievement file of a researcher helps moving to the more difficult support phases, such as the Research Group program, and research center grants. They also contribute to the establishment of innovation centers or requesting the establishment of a specialized research chair, all of which pays off in many forms. The most important form is the intellectual property and patents resulting from these researches. Their impacts are tangible in reality as knowledge products result in general and industrial products in particular.

The knowledge transformation of research capacity is clearly manifested in the knowledge economy, which means investing the research capacity in productive outlets such as consulting firms, technology and business incubators and business accelerators. This can positively influence the establishment of start-ups that contribute to social development and meet the national needs of the knowledge economy.

The Deanship's vision was based on five main aspects whose research objectives intersect with the vision of the Deanship. From them, the Deanship derived the most important components of its knowledge sources on a national level:

* Afaq plan in higher education.

* The National Commission for Academic Accreditation and Assessment (NCAAA)

* The National Plan for Science, Technology and Innovation (NPST).

* The development vision of Makkah region.

* National 2030 Vision.

The Deanship of Scientific Research has a gone a long way in terms of achieving these visions, as it has benefited from Afaq plan in terms of determining the target levels. It is working to collect statistical data research wise in order to localize the Future of technology and innovation at UQU.  The Deanship has also focused on the most important pillars of evaluating the best practices in the scientific research of the NCAAA at an institutional level, providing support for research grants in a way that fits the general budget while ensuring constant evaluation of research activities and services takes place. The Deanship works to overcome the problem of knowing the rate of publication and citation, especially in the research written in Arabic. As for the NPST, UQU was one of the first universities to develop operational plans to measure research performance indicators that guarantee the quality of procedures and outcomes of research projects.

The Deanship was also keen on remaining in line with the trends of Makkah in terms of the vision of development, in order to make Makkah an international inspirational example a foundation stone in the 2030 vision to increase the contribution of enterprises in the scientific output and generally reduce unemployment rates in research investment in order to reach the knowledge economy.

 

 

Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

رؤية عمادة البحث العلمي 2030


- 2019/10/13

انطلقت رؤية عمادة البحث العلمي من رؤية جامعة أم القرى التي ترتكز على أهمية الريادة في البحث العلمي بجانب الريادة في التعليم وخدمة المجتمع فكانت رؤية العمادة (أن تكون جامعة أم القرى مرجعاً بحثياً موثوقاً في العلوم ومحركاً أساسياً في إدارة وريادة اقتصاد ومجتمع المعرفة وركيزة أساسية في دعم اتخاذ القرار العلمي في المملكة العربية السعودية).

يُعد تحقيق الرؤية في المجتمع المعرفي أمراً ليس يسيراً، خاصة أن العمادة اعتمدت في بناء أسسها الاستراتيجية مجموعة من القيم الإسلامية التي تؤطر جميع أنشطتها البحثية، وهي: الأمانة، النزاهة، الاحترام، المسؤولية المشتركة، الشفافية، الأصالة، الصدق، الجودة والتميز. لذلك كان لزاماً أن تكون الرؤية واضحة المعالم تستقي مصادرها وخططها التنفيذية بدون الإخلال بالقيم الإسلامية الثابتة وإن تطلب الأمر جهداً مضاعفاً وفترة زمنية أطول من المأمول.

اهتمت العمادة في أولى مراحل الدعم بجميع فئات المجتمع المعرفي في الجامعة (أستاذ، أستاذ مشارك، أستاذ مساعد/ محاضر، معيد، طالب دراسات عليا، طالب بكالوريوس)، فكانت برامج الدعم البحثي الخارجية (برنامج معرفة، برنامج منح سابك، برنامج منح كاوست)، وبرامج الدعم الداخلي (رائد، باحث، واعدة)، تستهدف إشراك جميع فئات هذا المجتمع لزيادة فرصة الحصول على الدعم والرفع بمستوى المجتمع المعرفي بتوازن يتناسب مع أهداف العمادة الاستراتيجية، كما ركزت العمادة على استكمال منظومة الدعم الفردي (برنامج ناشر/ دارس لطلبة الدراسات العليا، برنامج سفراء لطلبة الدراسات العليا وطلبة البكالوريوس، وبرنامج مؤلف ومترجم لتحفيز الاتجاه للبحث العلمي المتنوع بلوائح وأنظمة إلكترونية تكفل الجودة العالية للمقترح البحثي المقدم للعمادة من حيث التقديم، التحكيم، اتخاذ القرار).

إن بناء القدرات البحثية وتأسيس الملف الإنجازي لدى الباحث هو الداعم للانتقال للمرحلة الأصعب في الدعم كبرنامج المجموعات البحثية، ومنح المراكز البحثية، وتـأسيس مراكز الابتكار أو طلب تأسيس كرسي بحثي متخصص مما يؤتي ثماره في عدة أشكال؛ أهمها الملكية الفكرية وبراءات الاختراع الناجمة عن هذه الأبحاث التي يمكن تلمُّس ثمارها في أرض الواقع عن طريق وجود منتجات معرفية عامة أو صناعية خاصة.

التحول المعرفي للقدرات البحثية يظهر بشكل واضح في الاقتصاد المعرفي أي استثمار القدرات البحثية في منافذ إنتاجية مثل بيوت الخبرة، حاضنات التقنية والأعمال، مسرعات الأعمال مما يمكن أن يؤثر إيجابياً في تأسيس شركات ناشئة تساهم في الرقي المجتمعي وتلبي الاحتياجات الوطنية للاقتصاد المعرفي.

اعتمدت رؤية العمادة على خمس روافد رئيسية، تتقاطع أهدافها البحثية مع رؤية العمادة، واستخلصت العمادة منها أهم مكونات مصادرها المعرفية على المستوى الوطني، وهي:

* خطة آفاق في التعليم العالي.

* الهيئة الوطنية للتقويم والاعتماد الأكاديمي.

* الخطة الوطنية للعلوم والتقنية والابتكار.

* الرؤية التنموية لمنطقة مكة المكرمة.

* الرؤية الوطنية 2030م.

قطعت عمادة البحث العلمي شوطاً كبيراً في تحقيق ما يمكن تحقيقه من هذه الرؤى المشتركة، فاستفادت من خطة آفاق في تحديد المستويات المستهدفة، وتعمل على جمع البيانات الإحصائية لهذه المستويات على المستوى البحثي من أجل توطين مستقبل التقنية والابتكار في جامعة أم القرى. كما ركزت العمادة على أهم ركائز تقييم أفضل الممارسات في البحث العلمي للهيئة الوطنية للتقويم والاعتماد الأكاديمي على المستوى المؤسسي، فوفرت الدعم للمنح البحثية بما يتناسب مع الميزانية العامة مع الحرص على التقييم المستمر للأنشطة والخدمات البحثية، وتعمل العمادة على تخطي مشكلة معرفة معدل النشر والاستشهاد خاصة للأبحاث المنشورة باللغة العربية. أما الخطة الوطنية للعلوم والتقنية والابتكار فقد كانت جامعة أم القرى من الجامعات السباقة لوضع خطط تنفيذية لقياس مؤشرات الأداء البحثية التي تضمن جودة الإجراءات المتبعة في المشاريع البحثية ومخرجاتها.

كما حرصت رؤية عمادة البحث العلمي في جامعة أم القرى أن تتسق مع توجهات منطقة مكة المكرمة في الرؤية التنموية لتكون مكة نموذجاً مشرفاً وملهماَ عالمياً ولبنة أساسية في رؤية 2030 لرفع مساهمة المنشآت في الناتج العلمي، وخفض نسبة البطالة عامة بالاستثمار البحثي للوصول إلى الاقتصاد المعرفي.

جار التحميل