Umm Al-Qura University

Umm Al-Qura University

Voluntary Programs and Community Service


- 2020/04/16

 

Introduction

Voluntary work is one of the cornerstones of the Saudi Vision 2030, which aims to place the Saudi Kingdom in the forefront of the world countries. The great importance of voluntary work is centered on developing the skills of the country's students and employees by them participating in new experiences, in addition to spreading a culture of loving to help others. Voluntary work is one of the actions that Islam has urged, as it contributes to the solidarity of the society, encouraging the citizens to work as a team. The goal of voluntary work is not material gain, rather it aspires to something higher than that; it focuses on the interest and renaissance of the individual, society, and state, achieving benefit for all, without exception. In addition, voluntary work saves the financial costs of providing some simple services, which contributes to significantly improving and strengthening the economy.

Accordingly, Umm Al-Qura University has attached great importance to voluntary work and community service. It is considered one of the goals of the university's mission. Therefore, the UQU College of Medicine has been proactive in achieving this goal, as it contributed in serving the visitors of the country for Hajj and Umrah. Moreover, voluntary work has become part of its study program; it is imperative for all college students to participate in voluntary work as one of the requirements to obtain their university degree.

Objectives

Consequently, the Unit of Community Service, Pilgrims Service and Entrepreneurship at the College of Medicine aims at:

  1. Supporting and encouraging voluntary work performed by both students and faculty members.
  2. Providing awareness services and programs throughout the year, given by the students under the supervision of college faculty members, to increase community awareness and education on health matters. This contributes to improving the health of the community and reducing the spread of diseases among its members, in addition to educating them on the most important first aid methods and how to deal with patients and injured people in the absence of specialists.
  3. Coordinating with the concerned authorities inside and outside the university to provide voluntary programs and services for visitors of the Sacred Mosque during the month of Ramadan.
  4. Supervising the voluntary and systematic pilgrimage program and forming committees related to it, including faculty members and students at the College of Medicine, with the aim of providing the best service to the pilgrims of the Sacred Mosque and providing them with the necessary medical services during the performance of their rituals.
  5. Encouraging and supporting the culture of entrepreneurship among college employees, students, and faculty members, and developing and supporting their ideas to produce projects that serve the community, in coordination with the competent entities at the university, such as Wadi Makkah and the Institute of Innovation and Entrepreneurship. In addition, courses to develop and improve the skills of college employees, students, and faculty members, to come up with products of value and benefit are provided.
  6. Creating a database of voluntary work and projects undertaken by the college employees, students, and faculty members, to benefit from them in improving the services offered and contribute to the definition of services provided by the college as well as to recording its contribution to community service.
Loading

جامعة أم القرى

جامعة أم القرى

البرامج التطوعية وخدمة المجتمع


- 2020/03/26

المقدمة:

يعد العمل التطوعي أحد ركائز رؤية المملكة ٢٠٣٠؛ والتي تهدف لجعل الدولة أحد مصافّ دول العالم، حيث إن العمل التطوعي ذو أهمية كبيرة تتمحور حول تطوير مهارات طلاب وموظفي الدولة عن طريق مشاركتهم في تجارب جديدة، بالإضافة إلى نشر ثقافة حب مساعدة الغير، والتي حث عليها ديننا الإسلامي؛ والتي تسهم في تكاتف المجتمع ليعمل كفريق واحد دون أن يكون الهدف من العمل هو المكسب المادي ولكن ليمتد لأبعد من ذلك إلى الاهتمام بمصلحة ونهضة الفرد والمجتمع والدولة، والذي يعود بالفائدة للجميع دون استثناء. إضافة إلى ذلك ما قد تعود به تلك الأعمال من توفير التكاليف المادية لتقديم بعض الخدمات البسيطة التي تسهم في تحسين وتقوية الاقتصاد بشكل كبير.

بناءً على ذلك، فإن جامعة أم القرى أولت خدمة المجتمع أهمية كبرى، ويعتبر أحد أهداف رسالة الجامعة، ولذلك فإن كلية الطب بالجامعة كانت سباقة لتحقيق هذا الهدف، حيث ساهمت في خدمة زوار بيت الله من الحجاج والمعتمرين، وقد أصبح العمل التطوعي جزءًا من برنامجها الدراسي، ويتحتم على جميع الطلبة بالكلية المشاركة في الأعمال التطوعية كأحد المتطلبات لنيل شهادتهم الجامعية.

الأهداف:

وعليه، فإن وحدة خدمة المجتمع والحجيج وريادة الأعمال بكلية الطب تهدف إلى ما يلي:

  1. دعم وتشجيع العمل التطوعي لدى منسوبي الكلية من طلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس.
  2. توفير خدمات وبرامج توعوية على مدار العام يقدمها الطلبة بإشراف أعضاء هيئة التدريس بالكلية لزيادة وعي المجتمع وتثقيفه بالأمور الصحية؛ مما يسهم في تحسين صحته، والتقليل من انتشار الأمراض بين أفراده. بالإضافة إلى تثقيفهم بأهم طرق الإسعافات الأولية، وكيفية التعامل مع المرضى والمصابين في حال عدم توفر مختصين.
  3. التنسيق مع الجهات المعنية داخل وخارج الجامعة لتوفير برامج وخدمات تطوعية لزوار بيت الله خلال شهر رمضان المبارك.
  4. الإشراف على برنامج الحج التطوعي والمنهجي وتشكيل اللجان المتعلقة به، ويشمل ذلك أعضاء هيئة التدريس والطلاب بكلية الطب، بهدف تقديم أفضل خدمة لحجاج بيت الله، وتوفير الخدمات الطبية اللازمة لهم خلال أداء مناسكهم.
  5. تشجيع ودعم ثقافة ريادة الأعمال لدى منسوبي الكلية من طلاب وأعضاء هيئة تدريس، وتطوير أفكارهم ودعمها لإنتاج مشاريع تخدم المجتمع بالتنسيق مع الجهات المختصة بالجامعة، مثل وادي مكة، ومعهد الإبداع وريادة الأعمال، بالإضافة إلى توفير دورات لتطوير وتحسين مهارات منسوبي الكلية للخروج بمنتجات ذات قيمة وفائدة.
  6. عمل قاعدة بيانات بالأعمال التطوعية والمشاريع المقدمة من منسوبي الكلية للاستفادة منها في تحسين الخدمات المقدمة والمساهمة في التعريف بالخدمات المقدمة من الكلية ومساهمتها في خدمة المجتمع.
جار التحميل